Basket of Happiness

IMG_9137

The room was quiet.  Everyone was typing away on their cell phones.  In anticipation of a long wait at the doctor’s office,  I brought my basket of happiness.  This consists of colorful yarn and my crochet hook. 😉 It was no more then 5 minutes when a sweet girl asked me what I was making.  I told her “hats…lots of hats for the orphans!” 🙂  All of sudden, everyone else started asking questions and it was so much fun to get to know these strangers.  We were laughing and having great conversations!  One of the guys had played the piano for 65 years.   Another guy was a jazz musician.  One of the girls just started a new job as a business analyst.  Everyone seemed eager to connect.  There are benefits to social media, but there is no substitute for the real deal.  When was the last time you had a great conversation (face-to-face) with your mom, friend, neighbor, or a stranger? 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Basket of Happiness

  1. sewingcccm says:

    I have experienced something like this at the car wash of all places. As each person dropped their car
    and sat down to wait they would ask me what I was making? I was making a red scarf . Just like your experience in the doctors office. We all started talking and having a great time as we waited for our cars to be done. It is simple. Just take your knitting
    with you and you will experience this same thing.

  2. karidar says:

    Yes! Everyone should do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

