Interview with Kori

FB_IMG_1440730342200I’m very excited to introduce you to one of my dearest friends today! 🙂 Kori loves God, her family, and our country. My friend is passionate about all things good/right! She’s involved with CWA (Concerned Women for America) and she graciously agreed to let me interview her. Hope today’s post inspires you to serve others. 🙂

How did you get involved with CWA?

I heard about Concerned Women for America (CWA) on the radio just after I first became a Christian. One of my favorite radio programs was Beverly LaHaye Live. Beverly LaHaye is the founder of Concerned Women for America. I had recently had an abortion and was working through the devastation, grief, and healing of that experience when I discovered Beverly LaHaye Live. After a while, I didn’t hear much about CWA. Then, one day in 2009, I got a call from the CWA Southern California Area Director asking me if I would start a Prayer/Action Chapter in my town.

Can anyone join?

Yes! I know it’s called Concerned Women for America, but we have many men who are members as well. Our seven core issues are all Biblical ones: Religious Liberty, Sanctity of Life, Defense of the Family, National Sovereignty, Sexual Exploitation, Education, and Support for Israel. CWA approaches each of these issues from a woman’s perspective.

What are some of the ways people can volunteer?

They can become a member of CWA. We are the largest public policy women’s organization in the country with half a million members. That is a lot of weight behind us when we are lobbying on Capitol Hill and having our voice heard in the public square. Start a Prayer/Action Chapter. It’s a minimal commitment of about one hour per month. Just gather a few (or many) people together, educate them on the issues, pray and act. CWA has many resources and a monthly newsletter to make informing yourself and others really easy. Also, CWA of California releases occasional e-alerts about issues regarding the state. Some Chapters simply gather once a month to pray, and some go as far as pursuing community projects as a group, such as poll watching, voter registration, signature gathering for petitions, lobbying, attending rallies, etc. If you want to dive in a little deeper, directors always need help on their Steering Committees. Are you particularly gifted at communicating, writing, event planning, fundraising, social media, record keeping, tracking legislation? Would you be helpful in recruiting Prayer/Action Leaders? Is one of our core issues of particular interest to you and you want to specialize in that area and help us stay in-the-know regarding that issue? As you can see, there are many ways to be involved.

What is your job with CWA?

Today I am the Southern California Area Director. My job is to build more grassroots, Prayer/Action Chapters. I also keep track of state legislation concerning our core issues so that we can mobilize our grassroots to pray and take appropriate action.

Do you think you’ll want to run for public office some day?

I don’t think so. But if God calls me to, I will obey. Honestly, the thought of running for office terrifies me.

If yes, what position?

Wherever God calls me. I think one of the most important local positions is on the school board. The hours and hours, days and days, years and years influence that schools have on the next generation is almost irreversible. So much of the humanist agenda has taken over the education system, and we are turning out generation after generation of morally relative, history denying, truth rejecting students. Abraham Lincoln accurately stated: “The philosophy of the school room in one generation will be the philosophy of government in the next.”

Who is your role model and why?

Esther from the Bible. Esther was afraid when she was asked to go to the king for the purpose of saving her people who were scheduled to be annihilated by the government. Even though she was afraid, she still did what she was called to do. Her words were, “And if I perish, I perish.” She risked her life to boldly approach the king. But God had placed her in the palace “for such a time as this.” I am so afraid so much of the time and out of my comfort zone. Still, I’d rather be in the center of God’s will than comfortable and complacent … and disobedient. A major lesson I have learned this year is that bravery is something you do and not always something you feel. You can be brave even when you are scared to death. I always thought that courageous people were confident of their abilities, but I think bravery is more often executed in spite of fear. Bravery is like love. You don’t have to feel affection for someone to love them. You just do it. So it is with bravery.

If someone wanted to learn more about CWA, what is the best way to contact you?

I can be reached at s.director@california.cwfa.org. Our California CWA website is ca.cwfa.org, and our national website is http://www.concernedwomen.org or http://www.cwfa.org.

One last important question – what is your favorite dessert? 🙂

Ice cream sundae.

YUM. Thank you Kori!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with Kori

  1. we2snells says:

    This is a WoW! Go Kori!!

Leave a Reply

