The Unexpected Call

Image

This is my final post about Expo West.  Actually, it doesn’t have anything to do with the show, but what happened on the way to the show last Saturday.  It’s a God story!  I just found out from my mom that one of my aunts was diagnosed with cancer.  Even though we’re not close, I’ve wanted to reach out to her, but didn’t know how.  Well, here’s what happened –  I was on my way to a breakfast meeting and I had about a 15 minute walk to the restaurant.   I wanted to talk to my dad on the way, but instead of calling him, I auto dialed my aunt.   Unfortunately, I didn’t recognize her voice when she answered, so I apologized for the wrong number and quickly ended the call.  When I realized what just happened, I didn’t know what to do next because 1) I felt like a big dork and didn’t want to embarrass myself further  2) as mentioned, I am not close to her and I didn’t know if I  would  make her feel awkward if I called her back.  After 15 seconds of thinking about it, I called her back and explained what happened.  She started laughing,  which put me at ease and we had the sweetest conversation.  I could tell she didn’t feel well, but her spirit was high!  I was so happy to have the opportunity to tell my aunt that we were praying for her and that we loved her.  Have you felt awkward about reaching out to someone you don’t know well?  If you get an opportunity, don’t wimp out (like I almost did) – okay? 🙂 We can do this!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Unexpected Call

  1. Mom says:

    Kari, that was great of you to reach out to Aunt Joan. She is a sweet lady, and so sick. Love yu

Leave a Reply

